Delta Omega Honorary Society

Eta Chapter

The Delta Omega Honorary Society is the public health honorary society for accredited schools and programs of public health. The society has been active in advancing public health education, practice, and research for more than 75 years. Originally founded in 1924 at the Johns Hopkins University, the society has more than 90 national chapters.

The purpose of the Society is to encourage excellence in student scholarship and research and to recognize academic and professional achievement in the field of public health. The national office is housed at the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH).


collage of 2023 delta omega inductees

Collage featuring some of the 2023 Eta Chapter inductees.

About the Eta Chapter

decorative image, ensignia for Delta Omega Honorary Society

The Eta Chapter was formed in 1950 and is housed in the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine at Tulane University. Members are elected for nomination annually from the graduating students, faculty and alumni. Annual events include Delta Omega Week, the Fall/Spring Guest Speaker, Spring Poster Award and the Outstanding Dissertation Award. 

Correspondence Address

Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health - Eta Chapter
1440 Canal Street, Mailbox #8316
New Orleans, LA 70112

Current President: Caryn Bell, PhD
Department: Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences