Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

SPHTM ASIST

Several faculty and staff have participated in Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST), a two-day interactive workshop in suicide first aid. ASIST teaches participants to recognize when someone may have thoughts of suicide and work with them to create a plan that will support their immediate safety. Although ASIST is widely used by healthcare providers, participants don't need any formal training to attend the workshop—anyone 16 or older can learn and use the ASIST model.

SPHTM Asist Contacts 

The following Tulane SPHTM faculty and staff have completed Asist training:

Roz Bailey Executive Secretary, Student Services
504.988.7111
rbailey@tulane.edu

Sue Barosse Director of Admissions
594.988.8876
barrosse@tulane.edu

Margie Cartwright, Esq. Director of Career Services
504.988.3902
cartwright@tulane.edu

Rosie Chavez Senior Program Coordinator, GCHB
504.988.6596
rchavez@tulane.edu

Kasi Guillot Program Manager, Tropical Medicine
504.988.3346
kguillo@tulane.edu

Geraldine Neville Senior Program Coordinator, GEHS
504.988.7904
gneville@tulane.edu

Dr. Felicia Rabito Associate Professor Dept. of Epidemiology
504.988.3479
rabito@tulane.edu

Dr. TJ Stranova Associate Dean for Student Services
504.988.6758
tstrano@tulane.edu

Dr. Catherine Taylor Associate Professor, GCHB
504.988.5391
ctaylor5@tulane.edu

Vonnie Wright Program Manager
504.988.5392
lwright1@tulane.edu

Tulane University also provides other resources to faculty, staff, and students including:

QPR Suicide Prevention. Gatekeeper training is an effective strategy of Tulane University’s suicide prevention efforts. A QPR gatekeeper is someone trained to recognize someone at risk for, or experiencing, a suicide crisis and who further knows how and where to find help for a person in distress. Anyone can act as a QPR gatekeeper, meaning they do not need any counseling or medical experience. Overall, the main goal of QPR is to instill hope and to decrease isolation by connecting individuals to mental health resources. With QPR gatekeeper training, you can feel confident about helping that person and may even be the person who saves another student’s life. Learn how to ask a question and save a life.  Specifics: target audience students, faculty, or staff; 1 hour; facilitated by professional staff member of The Well.

Information Table – TUPHEs can do information tables at event to cover a variety of topics. Please provide details in the comment section below. Specifics: presented by TUPHEs.

Other workshops focus on sexual health, self-care and nutrition. For more information or to participate in a workshop, please see Campus Health's page here.