Student Government Association

The SGA sponsored a "Free Doughnuts Day" in the student lounge. SGA President Mahir Khan is in the foreground practicing his pool skills.

Photo of  SGA sponsored "Free Doughnuts Day" in the student lounge. 

The School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine (SPHTM) Student Government Association (SGA) represents the student body in collaboration with administration and faculty to address student needs and concerns.  Student involvement is encouraged and reflected in representation on school committees, including Executive Committee, Executive Faculty, Alumni Association Board, Graduate and Professional Student Association (GAPSA), Finance Committee and the General Faculty Retreat.

SPHTM SGA is governed by a constitution with officers elected annually. All students in the SPHTM are members of SGA. Some of the SGA activities include coordination of community support functions, and sponsorship of social and professional development events.  The SPHTM SGA also has five senatorial seats in GAPSA, through which students can participate in all aspects of university-wide student government.

SPHTM SGA Executive Board 2023-2024

President: Emma Holsberg
Vice-President: Akilesh Kandregula
Secretary: Sydney Howard
Treasurer: Dawn Gravolet

Meet your executive board!

Student Body Representatives and Committees 

Academic Affairs: The SPHTM SGA has the right to two representatives on the SPHTM Curriculum Committee.  Meetings take place monthly or as necessary.  Responsibilities vary from reviewing proposed courses, evaluating courses, and preparing for school certification.  The committee consists of members from each department, a professor to represent the undergraduate student interests, and guest appearances from deans.  Concerns with classes, requirements for graduation, and curriculum may be addressed to these two student representatives and will be assessed and forwarded to the committee in the most appropriate manner. Committee meetings do not take place in the month of July. These representatives will also be in attendance of all Deans' Hours for clarification purposes. Deans' Hour occurs roughly once a month in order for the deans to field new and continued concerns of the student body.

Community Action Council of Tulane University Students (CACTUS): The Community Action Council of Tulane University Students is one of the oldest and largest student-run community service organizations in the nation. We bridge the gap between Tulane students and the greater New Orleans community, while providing a valuable service to both groups. 

Graduate and Professional Student Association (GAPSA): GAPSA is the unifying body of the graduate and professional divisions of Tulane University.  GAPSA develops and furthers the scholastic, professional, social, and public service interests of all graduate and professional students by promoting an understanding amongst students, faculty, staff, and administrators.   They are responsible for allocating the budgets for all graduate and professional registered student organizations (RSOs).  They also facilitate inter-division communication and coordinates activities with the undergraduate student government.