Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Dr. Maureen Lichtveld named as member of prestigious National Academy of Medicine

October 17, 2016 9:00 AM

A Tulane University professor has been elected as a member of the National Academy of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Dr. Maureen Lichtveld is professor and chair in the Department of Global Environmental Health Sciences at Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine.   National Academy of Medicine membership recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. Dr. Lichtveld is one of 70 regular members and nine international members to be elected during NAM’s annual meeting.

 “We are tremendously proud of Dr. Maureen Lichtveld’s election to the National Academy of Medicine,” says Pierre Buekens, dean of Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine.

“Maureen has built an outstanding record of accomplishment throughout her public health career, and we are pleased that her hard work and dedication, especially in addressing health disparities, is being recognized by one of the most prestigious medical academies in the world. We know she will represent the school exceptionally well in her future efforts with the academy.”

 Dr Lichtveld’s career in environmental public health spans more than 30 years. Her research focuses on environmentally induced diseases including asthma and cancer, health disparities, environmental health policy, disaster preparedness, and public health systems. She is the Freeport McMoRan Chair of Environmental Policy.

 The National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues and inspires positive actions in the fields of health, science, medicine and related policy.  NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. With their election, members make a commitment to volunteer their service in the Academies’ activities.