Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

SPHTM ASIST

Several faculty and staff have participated in Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST), a two-day interactive workshop in suicide first aid. ASIST teaches participants to recognize when someone may have thoughts of suicide and work with them to create a plan that will support their immediate safety. Although ASIST is widely used by healthcare providers, participants don't need any formal training to attend the workshop—anyone 16 or older can learn and use the ASIST model.

Tulane University also provides other resources to faculty, staff, and students:

Kognito At-Risk offers an interactive training for students, staff, and faculty who notice others are showing signs of distress and want to learn how to talk about it. The university We offer three of Kognito's program including: Faculty and Staff At-Risk training, Student and RA At-Risk training and LGBTQ on Campus for students (open to faculty and staff to view as well).

SafeTALK is a 3.5-hour training program that teaches participants to recognize and engage persons who might be having thoughts of suicide and to connect them with community resources trained in suicide intervention. SafeTALK stresses safety while challenging taboos that inhibit open talk about suicide. The 'safe' of SafeTALK stands for 'suicide alertness for everyone.' The "TALK' letters stand for the practice actions that one does to help those with thoughts of suicide: Tell, Ask, Listen, and KeepSafe. SafeTALK is provided by SAMHSA's Suicide Prevention Grant managed through the Center for Wellness & Health Promotion. SafeTALK is offered periodically throughout the year to faculty, staff, and students. To get more information, email theWELL at whp@tulane.edu.

SPHTM Asist Contacts 

The following Tulane SPHTM faculty and staff have completed Asist training:

Roz Bailey Executive Secretary, Student Services
504.988.7111
rbailey@tulane.edu

Sue Barosse Director of Admissions
594.988.8876
barrosse@tulane.edu

Margie Cartwright, Esq. Director of Career Services
504.988.3902
cartwright@tulane.edu

Rosie Chavez Senior Program Coordinator, GCHB
504.988.6596
rchavez@tulane.edu

Kasi Guillot Program Manager, Tropical Medicine
504.988.3346
kguillo@tulane.edu

Geraldine Neville Senior Program Coordinator, GEHS
504.988.7904
gneville@tulane.edu

Dr. Felicia Rabito Associate Professor Dept. of Epidemiology
504.988.3479
rabito@tulane.edu

Dr. TJ Stranova Associate Dean for Student Services
504.988.6758
tstrano@tulane.edu

Dr. Catherine Taylor Associate Professor, GCHB
504.988.5391
ctaylor5@tulane.edu

Vonnie Wright Program Manager
504.988.5392
lwright1@tulane.edu