Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Strategic Planning Steering Committee

Dean LaVeist has delegated a committee to lead the strategic planning effort. This committee sets the tone, embodies the values and confirms the direction of the strategic plan. They follow this direction in setting goals for the strategic plan, strategic areas of focus, and an implementation timeline. Their decisions require careful analysis of an "Environmental Scan" and of recommendations that emerge from collaborative discussions at faculty and staff retreats, townhall meetings and other feedback mechanisms.

Member Position Stakeholder Groups Represented
Thomas LaVeist Dean and Committee Chair Tulane executive leadership
LuAnn White Senior Associate Dean of Academics Dean's office, academic and curricular affairs
Verna Aucoin Director of Development Staff (Dean’s Office), alumni, supporters and donors
Mark Diana Associate Professor and Department Chair (HMP) Senior Professional and teaching faculty (HMP)
TJ Stranova Clinical Assistant Professor and Associate Dean Staff (Student affairs), Sr. teaching faculty (GHMP), undergraduate faculty/alumni, academic leadership
Maureen Lichtveld Professor and Department Chair (GEHS) Sr. teaching and research faculty (GEHS), minority (Latino) faculty, academic leadership
Pat Kissinger Professor (EPID) and member of the University Senate’s Faculty Advisory Committee Teaching and research faculty (EPID), university senate
Mark Vanlandingham Professor, Dir Center for Studies of Displaced Populations Teaching and research faculty (GCHB & International Health)
Joe Keating Professor and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education Sr. teaching and research faculty (TRMD), undergraduate students and faculty
Jiang He Professor and Department Chair Sr. teaching & research faculty, executive faculty
Jeff Shaffer Assistant Professor of Biostatistics, Chair of General Faculty Sr. teaching & research faculty (BIOS), executive faculty
Richard Oberhelman Professor and Department Chair (GCHB) Sr. teaching and research faculty, chairs
Kathleen Branley Senior. Dept. Administrator for Biostatistics Staff, academic departments
Isabella M Parise MPH Student in Community & Behavioral Sciences, Campus Health Student Advisory Board MPH Students, student workers, students with disabilities
Cecilia Alcala PhD Student in Environmental Health, Lead for the Diversity Committee Doctoral Students, minority students
Christian Geneus 3rd yr PhD Student in Biostatistics, Treasurer for the Society for YBPHP*, Med Technician in EPI Doctoral Students, minority students, research assistants
Michael McCaskill Asst. Prof. Global Environmental Health Sciences MPH students, minority students
Adam Maese Director MD/MPH Joint Degree Program  Joint degree students
Paul Tindall MPH Student in Epidemiology, Global Scholars Coordinator MPH students, global scholars
Claire Namboodri Undergraduate Student Undergraduate students

Beginning with internal and external data sources, the Strategic Planning Steering Committee will perform a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threat analysis on the current state of the School. They will use this analysis, along with priority foci provided by the Dean, feedback from faculty and staff and the Task Force groups to determine clearly defined “areas of strategic focus” and the primary goals for each area.

You can also visit the 2018 SPHTM Task Force page to see who sits on those committees.