Health Policy and Management announces faculty awards

Fri, 10/11/2024 - 16:20

1

David Gladow dgladow@tulane.edu

View PDF



Lizheng Shi, Jane Bertrand, Kevin Callison, and Brigham Walker.

The Department of <u>Health Policy and Management</u> at the Tulane University <u>Celia Scott Weatherhead School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine</u> announced the appointment of <u>Dr. Lizheng Shi</u> as Neal A. and Mary Vanselow Chair in Health Management and Policy. T The Vanselow Chair was just one of three recent

appointment announcements for the department.

Shi, former interim department chair of the department, takes on the mantle of Vanselow Chair from <u>Jane Bertrand</u>, who was the inaugural recipient of the honor in 2010 and will be retiring from the Celia Scott Weatherhead School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine in December 2024.

In addition to his role as a tenured professor in the department, Shi will continue to serve as clinical faculty in departments of Medicine (endocrinology) and Psychiatry. He is the director for Health Systems Analytics Research Center (HSARC) and a member of the editorial board for Pharmacoeconomics.

"Together, Lizheng and Jane embody the mission of the school- ensure that all humanity has an equitable opportunity to be healthy and pursue optimal well-being."

Dr. Arthur Mora

"It is a great honor for me to be the Vanselow Chair in the school," Shi said. "I will use the recognition and resources to contribute to leading scholarship and research in health policy and management, nationally and globally."

As part of his transition, Shi will step away from the role of Endowed Regents Professor.

The Vanselow Chair was established with funds from the Edward G. Schlieder Educational Foundation and matching funds from the Louisiana Board of Regenets. The chair honors Vanselow, the former chancellor of Tulane Medical Center and professor emeritus of medicine, and his wife.

<u>Bertrand was named</u> the inaugural Neal A. and Mary Vanselow Chair in Health Management and Policy in 2010.

Dr. Arthur Mora, chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management, spoke to the significant contributions of both individuals in announcing the change.

"Dr. Shi is recognized globally as an innovator in the integration of artificial intelligence with electronic medical records to transform diabetes care. His pioneering research and mentorship of countless students and young investigators holds the promise of improving health outcomes for countless individuals

worldwide," Mora said.

"Alongside him, we celebrate the inaugural Neal A. and Mary Vanselow endowed chair Jane Bertrand whose extraordinary legacy of leadership in international reproductive health, spanning over four decades, has had a dramatic impact in the lives of women and families across sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America."

"Together, Lizheng and Jane embody the mission of the school- ensure that all humanity has an equitable opportunity to be healthy and pursue optimal wellbeing."

In addition to those moves, <u>Dr. Kevin Callison</u> has been appointed as the Drs. W.C. Tsai and P.T. Kung Professor in Health Systems Management, while <u>Brigham Walker</u> has been awarded the 170th Anniversary Early Career Professorship.

Callison, whose research focuses on health economics and health policy evaluation, is the program director for the MPH in Health Policy and Management. The Drs. W.C. Tsai and P.T. Kung Professorship in Health Systems Management was established in 2003.

Walker's research is centered around incentives dictating patient changes and health equity in general. The endowed position supports a junior faculty member who shows the promise of research excellence at the Celia Scott Weatherhead School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine for up to a three-year period. The professorship was initiated in 2005 following the university's celebration of its 170th anniversary.