## Katherine Theall among Tulane faculty to be honored with 2024 teaching award

Wed, 05/15/2024 - 10:55 | Alicia Serrano Bilich aserrano1@tulane.edu

## View PDF



Tulane University will honor dedicated faculty members with university-wide teaching awards during the **Unified Commencement Ceremony** on Saturday, May 18, 2024.

The Oliver Fund Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentoring, which is given on a biannual basis, has been awarded to <u>Katherine Theall</u>, holder of the Cecile Usdin Professorship in Women's Health in the <u>School of Public Health and Tropical</u> <u>Medicine</u>, director of the <u>Mary Amelia Center for Women's Health Equity</u>

## **Research** and senior director of the **Violence Prevention Institute**.

Theall has served as an unwavering mentor to countless postdoctoral fellows and junior and mid-level faculty. One faculty member wrote, "She is a fearless advocate for junior faculty and has truly built a supportive network for many of us across disciplines to collaborate and expand our research portfolios."

Another said, "Dr. Theall's mentorship extends far beyond academic guidance — she fosters an environment of trust, respect and interdisciplinary collaboration, empowering her mentees to thrive both personally and professionally."

Other awards to be presented Saturday include the Tulane President's Awards for Excellence in Professional and Graduate Teaching and the Suzanne and Stephen Weiss Presidential Fellowship for Undergraduate Education.

The recipients of the 2024 President's Awards for Excellence in Professional and Graduate Teaching are Ricardo Cortez, the Pendergraft William Larkin Duren Professor in the Department of Mathematics in the School of Science and Engineering, and Adeline Masquelier, professor in the Department of Anthropology in the School of Liberal Arts.

The 2024 Weiss Fellow is Carrie Wyland, senior professor of practice in the Department of Psychology in the School of Science and Engineering.

Recipients are nominated and then reviewed and chosen by a selection committee. The Oliver Fund Award recipient is chosen by the provost. Profiles of the other award winners can be **found here**.