Members of SPHTM faculty, including retirees, honored Wednesday night

Thu, 11/09/2023 - 15:43 | David Gladow <u>dgladow@tulane.edu</u>

View PDF



⁽Photo credit: Dee Boling)

Members of the <u>Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine</u> faculty were honored Wednesday evening at a faculty appreciation dinner hosted by Dean Thomas A. LaVeist at Dooky Chase Restaurant in New Orleans.

The evening began with a welcome to all the newest members of the faculty. That list included Dr. Akilah Dulin, Professor and Chair, Social, Behavioral and Population Sciences; Dr. Anita Raj, Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Jay Silverman, Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Mostafijur Rahman, Assistant Professor, Environmental Health Sciences; and Dr. Troy Moon, Professor, Tropical Medicine and Pediatrics.

New clinical faculty included Dr. Lauren Dunaway, Assistant Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Andrea Kaniuka, Assistant Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Jennifer Makelarski, Assistant Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Jylana Sheats, Associate Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Megan Weemer, Assistant Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Rustin Reed, Assistant Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences; Dr. Rustin Reed, Assistant Professor, Environmental Health Sciences; Dr. David Washburn, Associate Professor, Health Policy & Management; and Dr. Arthur Mora, Professor, Health Policy & Management.

New research faculty were Dr. Shalean Collins, Assistant Professor, International Health and Sustainable Development; Dr. Johanna Nice, Assistant Professor, International Health and Sustainable Development; Dr. Allison Marshall, Assistant Professor, Epidemiology; and Dr. Derek Werthmann, Assistant Professor, Epidemiology.

In addition, several individuals were singled out for their recent promotions: Dr. Kevin Callison (Associate Professor, Health Policy and Management), Dr. Arachu Castro (Professor, International Health and Sustainable Development), Dr. Hua He (Professor, Epidemiology), and Dr. Maeve Wallace (Associate Professor, Social, Behavioral, and Population Sciences).

Teaching awards were handed out to Dr. Sarah Michaels, Assistant Professor, Tropical Medicine & Infectious Disease (Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award); Dr. Berlin Londono-Renteria, Asssistant Professor, Tropical Medicine & Infectious Disease (SPHTM Student Government Association Teaching Excellence Award); Dr. Katherine Andrinopoulos, Associate Professor, International Health & Sustainable Development (President's Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching); and Dr. Ron Blanton, Professor and Chair, Department of Tropical Medicine & Infectious Disease (Dean E. Elaine Boston Award for Outstanding Long-term Commitment to Student Needs).

Finally, all faculty retirees were honored with recognition. Dr. Laura Murphy, Associate Professor, Social, Behavioral and Population Sciences; Dr. Chuck Miller, Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, Dr. Mark Vanlandingham, Professor, International Health and Sustainable Development; and Dr. LuAnn White, Professor, Environmental Health Sciences were highlighted in special videos, which you can watch <u>here</u>.